Some people believe that governments should have access to people’s mobile phone call records and messages for safety reasons. Others believe that this information is private and should not be available without permission. Discuss both these views and give your opinion.

Many people argue that data from mobile phones should be monitored by governments because of safety concerns, others oppose this view and believe that information stored in mobile devices are confidential, and should not be accessed without consent. I strongly believe that cell phone records might prevent serious crimes, but authorities should only access to public phone records with permission. To begin with, the primary reason why governments should access to mobile data is that it prevent criminal activities. Smart phones which store information of call logs, text massages and search history, are highly valued by investigators. These information often connect to serious crimes, hence, accessing these records may solve serious cases with quick succession. In the UK, for example, 60% criminal offences were solved through appropriate access to mobile data in last five years. On the other hand, accessing mobile phone records without consent breaches the privacy of consumers. Individual uses mobile phone to connect with families, to pay bills through online banking, and store private and confidential media information. If the authorities access them without seeking permission, it violates policy of The Human Rights Acts, such as freedom of speech and negligence to dignity. Therefore, to respect people's privacy, governments should only access to individuals cell information when it is absolutely essential. In conclusion, while the information stored in smart phones are valuable to investigate serious criminal offences, these data should only be available to access with permission. So, I strongly believe, governments should respect respect people's privacy and dignity, and seek permission before accessing their phone records.