Few people devote time to hoobies. Say why this is the case and what effects this has on individuals and society

Nowadays, very few people dedicate their time to hobbies because of the demands of life and a lack of interest. This development is negatively affecting individuals' health and destroying relations in society. This essay discusses some of the reasons for people choosing to focus on other areas of life, and the effects of such choices on them and society. First and foremost, the contemporary world has increasing demands for work and economic activity, which limit individuals' engagement with leisure activities. With busy schedules, pending due dates, and multiple commitments in public and domestic spheres, many, such as working parents, find the opportunities for participating in their loved hobbies dwindling. In addition, others quickly lose interest in hobbies, such that they are so absorbed in their work, even during their free time. This is usually exemplified by company executives and academics in many places of the world. The challenge with this trend is that it leads to declining health over time as people avoid activities such as sport, which are known to boost physical and mental health. Likewise, this practice lowers the chances for individuals to meet in social spaces where intimate interactions occur, and ultimately weakens social ties. This is the reason why most men in industrialised economies are said to be unhappy despite being financially endowed, and it proves that leisure is vital for promoting healthy relationships. In conclusion, nowadays, people devote less time to hobbies because they are fully consumed by demanding paid and domestic work, leaving them drained and uninterested in other things. This phenomenon leads to negative effects on individual wellbeing and social relationships. It is crucial to create a balance between work and life so as to create healthier living conditions.