In their advertisings, business nowadays usually emphasise that their products are new in some way. Why is this? Do you think it is a positive or negative development?

In this consumer-driven world, advertising companies often promote that there is something new with their products. This is due to the fact that they have to attract their potential targets in order to maximise their profits, and this must be seen as a negative development because such behaviour promotes excessive consumption, and creates false assumptions among people. To begin with, business follows different kinds of marketing strategies to attract consumers to make profits. This is mainly because the market is highly competitive,and in order to stand out among customers, they have to promote their products, and services using competitive measures. Even though the product functionality is not changed, but endorsed with minor body modification makes it appeal to customers. Hence, they utilise this trend as a key strategy for selling products with false information. For example, many beauty products in the market just promote their non-selling items by changing their package design and reintroducing them to increase sales. From my perspective, such a trend accelerates towards negative developments, as it encourages excessive consumption, and creates false expectations. In other words, such behaviour allows people to constantly purchase new products, as they intend that new items will have new functionality. However, when they recognise the false selling strategies, they will have a negative opinion on the brand, which deters them from purchasing in the future. For instance, a recent marketing study revealed that they use such false promotions just to resell items on stock. In conclusion, business always promote their products, saying its new in some way, in order to attract consumers. However, this trend gravitates towards negative growth because such strategies often cause over consumption, and develop a negative brand image.