Every country should have a free health service, even if this means that the latest medical treatments may not be available through the service because they are too expensive. To what extent do you agree or disagree? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

In contemporary society, many individuals argue that governments should provide free health services, even at the expense of reducing the capacity to acquire modern medical supplies. I partly disagree with this view, because while free services are justified on the grounds of ensuring health access for all, medical technology is also a necessity that must be prioritised due to the complex nature of modern diseases. To begin with, the supporters of "zero-fee" health policies maintain that present-day medical charges are too exorbitant, thus marginalising people from the lower status of society. This is a reasonable concern, given that over half of the world's population lives below the poverty line and cannot afford expensive doctors' consultations and medicines. To exemplify this, many academic studies report that some low-income nations score moderately in life expectancy measures because their health systems are mostly privatised, meaning only those with insurance policies can receive treatment from costly hospitals. In such situations, it is justified for citizens to call for free services. In contrast, the purchasing of the latest medical treatments should not be compromised at the expense of making healthcare accessibility free. The latest public health crises should serve as a reminder that fighting illnesses requires technological sophistication. The COVID-19 pandemic, for instance, was only abated once the global financial, research and political resources were harnessed towards tackling the virus. The rapid development of mRNA vaccines and the purposeful circulation of COVID-19 information restored hope to the world, showing that investment in modern biological technologies is needed for building public health systems. In conclusion, I argue that a balance is required between investing in national medicine and subsidising healthcare. Instead of completely eradicating charges, there is a need to reduce the fees considerably, so that the poor can afford them; simultaneously, governments should expand their health budgets and explore fundraising as a strategy, so as to meet the rising health demands.