The growing of over weight people is putting a strain on the health care system in an effort to deal with the health issues involved. Some people think that the best way to deal with this problem is to introduce more physical education lesons in the school curriculum. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is often argued that an increasing number of health problems, such as obesity, often stress the public health care systems to diagnose, and provide appropriate treatments. Some people believe that introducing extra sports lessons in the school curriculum is an effective way to tackle this problem. In my opinion, while I agree that such an approach increases awareness among children, there are other effective measures, such as imposing bans on processed foods, and organising educational campaigns. To begin with, introducing sports lessons in the school curriculum brings awareness to children to stay healthy. This is mainly because when they engage in regular physical activities, it helps to keep them healthy and strong by burning more calories. However, it is not evident that this will prevent students from eating junk or processed foods, which is the main cause of overweight problems. As a result, children may stay fit, and active, but they remain unhealthy due to the consumption of more processed foods, which are high in saturated fat, and salt to cause health issues. For instance, a recent study revealed that engaging in physical activities alone does not guarantee that the young ones will not face obesity problems. It is a balanced approach that includes both a healthy diet, and physical exercise. Furthermore, imposing strict restrictions on processed foods, and educational campaigns on healthy items are efficient measures to control this issue. This means that the government should impose strict bans on unhealthy foods, which leads to a reduction in the availability of such foods in markets. By doing this, students will not have an option to choose sugary drinks in stores. In addition, education campaigns can be arranged to educate children on healthy eating habits, which enhances their knowledge about the detrimental impacts of such packaged foods. For example, Maholi is the only country that has placed restrictions on sugary foods to control weight issues. In conclusion, some people believe that adding physical activities in school education is the best way to solve obesity issues. In my opinion, such a growing concern must be tackled by placing strong restrictions on packaged food, and educating children regarding the impacts of unhealthy foods to mitigate this problem permanently.