Some people have decided to reduce the number of times they fly every year or to stop flying altogether. Do you think the environmental benefits of this development outweigh the disadvantages for individuals and businesses?

Many people decided to lessen their frequency of travelling by plane annually or even stop using plane as their choice of transportation altogether. This essay argues that despite its drawback, the advantage is far more beneficial, especially in terms of lessening the danger of global warming caused by carbon emissions.. On the one hand, airline business is one of the most important part of the global economy. Not only that it helps us connect to every part of the world, it is also an implicit determinant of how a country is thriving economically. For instance, during the COVID-19 outbreak, every airport, either international or domestic, are shut down. Consequently, this phenomenon produces an effect of an abrupt stop in the economy, with no people travelling in and out of the country. Therefore, if great numbers of people decide to stop flying altogether, this will undoubtedly weaken the economy in the area. On the other hand, airplane is one of the highest contributor for emissions in the atmosphere and even predicted to intensify in the following years. To illustrate, while one person flying may not produce too much carbon footprints, several thousands of people flying in different airplanes will definitely contribute tremendous amount of carbon emissions to the atmosphere. As a result, this stacked up carbon will worsen the global warming if concrete actions are not taken by personal movements and by the authorities. Thus, reducing the number of times flying is a small individual action that will help lessen the carbon emissions in the earth's atmosphere layers, but will make huge a difference if it is done collectively. In conclusion, despite the negative effect of not using airplanes from the economic perspective, the environmental positive effect is very beneficial. The lessening of aircraft's carbon footprints which significantly worsens the global warming clearly outweighs the drawbacks.