Many students choose to study at colleges and universities that are far away from the places where they grew up. Do the benefits of this outweigh the drawbacks?

Today, an increasing number of young people tend to go to college or university far away from their home town. Although certain benefits exist, still I believe that the negative risks outweigh the benefits for most young adults because this leads to loneliness in their hearts. On the one hand, one of the important aspects of someone living far away from home is an adventure. One can experience everything that has not been allowed under the protection of parents or under the neighbour’s eyes. Through such experiences, sometimes he or she can find their own identity and might be able to intensify survival skills in their life, in most cases, people lose confidence in themselves when they are surrounded by totally different cultures and perspectives. For example, in Japan, it is always the students whose families are living nearby who can concentrate on studying so that they can generally achieve good marks in every subject. This is because they have a better psychological status than the others due to good relationships that can be a support for them when they are in need. Accordingly, the advantages are very limited to those who are very talented. On the other hand, there are a lot of drawbacks to going to colleges and universities far from your hometown: costs of living, stress from unfamiliar places and people, and that you have to start everything at the beginning. Generally speaking, freshmen from abroad tend to be more nervous, feel more difficulties in communicating with others and are more stressed out compared to domestic students because everything they need should be re-gained by themselves from the zero point. For instance, every year in Japan, young undergraduates from other countries report their complaints to the foreign ministry that they feel constricted with all the polite manners imposed on them in public places and that it is extremely difficult to get a good paying job because of the language acquisition is quite difficult without enough help. As a whole, there are more negative points than positive ones for most individuals to be far away from their homes. In conclusion, while some citizens state choosing universities far away from home is very challenging and therefore is a good chance for their advancement, for most students, there are far more disadvantages that distract them from studying and pursuing their achievements.