People who travel to another country to live, work or study for a period of time often suffer badly from homesickness. Why this problem occurs? What are the best ways to reduce this problem? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

In modern society, it is commonly observed that people working or studying abroad suffer from homesickness. This essay will examine the main problems caused by this issue and suggest possible solutions in turn. To begin with, there are some obvious issues related to the phenomenon. First of all, it can contribute to individuals’ mental issues. People who suffer from homesickness often talk about conflicts between their different types of ego. For example, many Asian people who living in Western countries struggle with different foods, weather, and cultures. Asian people have learned to be polite and calm during the childhood. However, in Western cultures, speaking in own voice and being confident are the value of well-being. As a result, students who are living in Western countries could face multiple egos by forcing themselves to adapt with residents, which can lead to mental issues such as anxiety, depression, and insomnia. Secondly, they could waste resources while struggling with homesickness. Students can under-perform due to low self-confidence. Comparing to the huge amount of budget and decision-making they invest before moving abroad, it is inefficient studying and working in new countries. On the other hand, a couple of steps could be considered by governments and companies to tackle the problem. Firstly, developing visual reality services that can help them to meet with families and friends in hometown, which can reduce the feeling of isolation. With technical advancement over time, IT companies innovated telecommunication systems with real-time graphics and clear voice systems between different countries. With VR applications that can feel the movement of hand shaking and warm hug with no spatial limit, people who suffering from homesickness can keep in touch with their surroundings. Moreover, implementing mental health care program among immigrants can help them to tackle with the issue. Therapists would help them to find pratical solutions to regain self-worth and self-confidence. In conclusion, there are some ways to tackle the issue such as developing visual reality services connecting them and their families and organizing mental health care programs.