Nowadays, a growing number of people with health problems are trying alternative medicines and treatments instead of visiting a doctor. Is it a positive development or a negative development?

In the modern world, a lot of people with health issues are using alternative medicine and treatments instead of consulting a doctor. I firmly believe that it is a negative development, because these methods can be harmful to a health, and self-medication cannot bring a positive effect. The first main reason is an unknown effect of unsafe treatments. When individuals use risky treatment methods, there cannot be a guarantee that they will definitely cure from dangerous diseases or lead to a positive consequences, such as enhanced well-being and improved mental health. Therefore, the usage of these methods can not only lead to a negative outcomes, but also they can be difficult to change. The second key risk is that self-medication may lead to a harmful outcomes. Since some people lack important medical knowledge, they should not practice self-medication, as it can lead to a potentially harmful results. For example, taking the wrong pills can worsen one's health or fail to cure the illness. Thus, self-medication is inappropriate and risky for health. In conclusion, I strongly concerned that it is better to visit a doctor and receive professional treatment than to use unsafe treatment methods and engage in self-medication.