In many countries, people are now living longer than ever before. Some people say an ageing population creates problems for governments. Other people think there are benefits if society has more elderly people. To what extent do the advantages of having an ageing population outweigh the disadvantages?

Due to the advancements in healthcare and nutrition, people are living longer lives in many nations. While some people argue that elderly people will cause trouble for society, others argue that there are more advantages to society if there are more old age folks. In my opinion, an ageing population brings more benefits in terms of financial security and work experiences rather than burdening governments. This essay will discuss both views and my opinion in detail with relevant examples. On the one hand, critics argue that they create problems for the community. Firstly, retired people often depend on governments for pensions and benefits, which is considered a burden for taxpayers. As a result, advocates hesitate to have more elderly population in communities. Secondly, old age people often experience health issues,thereby they need facilities to provide special care and treatments. Therefore, it creates stress on governments and healthcare systems. For example, in India, the government allocated the majority of funds to construct retirement homes to provide facilities for the elderly. On the other hand, having a more ageing population offers significant benefits. With increased improvements in healthcare and nutrition, people are living long and healthy lives. As a result, they can continue working beyond their retirement age to save more money in order to support their old age rather than depending on government for benefits. Additionally, elderly people possess significant knowledge and years of experience, which can be better utilised by employers for making sound decisions and process enhancements. Hence, employers can contribute positively to society. For instance, a report revealed that young employees are more interested to learn from senior employees, especially in workplace, as they have decades of work experience. In conclusion, although people believe that elderly people are causing problems to governments, I think that society has significantly benefited from their years of experience and their ability to manage their finances. In my opinion, considering the benefits in the workplace and financial stability, it is evident that advantages outweigh its drawbacks.