Some people think the best way to solve global environmental problems is to increase the cost of fuel. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Global environmental issues have been a popular topic in the last few decades, and some people contend that increasing the price of fuel is the best solution to tackle this problem. However, disagree with this notion because there are other ways to reduce the effects of the global environmental problems. To begin with, the use of fossil fuels is condemned as the major contributor to the environmental problems, mainly pollution and global warming. In big cities around the world, such as New Delhi, Jakarta, and Mexico City, air quality has deteriorated that leading to various diseases such as asthma, cough, and cancer due to the increase of usage of private vehicles using fuel. Meanwhile, according to the research of the Jakarta Post in 2022, showed that the ozone layer has been getting depleted in the last few years because of greenhouse emissions from fossil fuels, and as a result, the average air temperature on Earth has risen approximately 10° C, which leads to detrimental effects due to weather changes. Furthermore, scientists and environmental activists have a notion that raising the price of gasoline and petrol will effectively combat this issue. However, it will cause inflation, which means raising the price of staple crops and other daily needs. For example, the increased price of fossil fuels in Indonesia in 2017 led to 6% in inflation, thus reducing the purchasing power, meanwhile, the salary only went up by 3%. The best viable solution to tackle this problem is to encourage societies to use public transportation and impose a high tax on new cars from the dealers, because by doing so, citizens will reduce the use of private cars, which leads to a reduction in emissions from fossil fuels. In conclusion, raising the price of fossil fuels will have adverse effects on society, which leads to inflation, thus, the most effective way is to induce societies to use public transportation and enact high taxes on new vehicles to reduce gas emissions.