Today many teenagers rely greatly on technology when learning. Is this a positive or negative development?

These days, it is often argued that many youths are depending on technology for education. While it has many benefits in terms of offering convenient learning, it has also brought significant drawbacks, such as addiction and distraction. This essay will discuss both the advantages and disadvantages before reaching a conclusion. On the one hand, relying on technology when studying brought significant benefits. One advantage is that it increased convenience. This means that students can refer to online resources and materials, such as bibliographies and articles, in order to support their learning. By doing this, they can enhance their knowledge as well as improve their academic grades. Another positive development is that they also gain computer knowledge while working with machines, as they resolve any technical glitches that they encounter. Therefore, they gain computer knowledge, which is valuable, as we are advancing in technology. For instance, a recent report revealed that an increasing number of teens prefer online learning because mentioning computer skills in CVs enhances their CV for better career prospects. On the other hand, such a trend also has its drawbacks. Firstly, when teens rely too much on the internet for education, they may end up referring to amateur materials, therefore their grades will be affected. This is because the internet allows everyone to publish articles, and it is not from a verified source like books. Secondly, too much reliance on computers causes addiction and distraction, which may lower their focus on studies. In other words, frequent adverts and games may divert their concentration from studies, resulting in poorer grades. For instance, a study on online education revealed that an average of 30% of children get lower grades because they are often diverted into online games. In conclusion, although using technology for education offers a convenient learning opportunity for teenagers, it also has its drawbacks, like accessing unauthorised study materials and losing their focus on studies by engaging in online activities. In my opinion, youths must have limited access to online resources in order to avoid distraction and achieve academic success. Therefore, negative developments outweigh its positives.