Some people say that the best way to improve public health is by increasing the number of sports facilities. Others, however, say that this would have little effect on public health and that other measures are required. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Some would argue that the best way to improve the health of the population is to rise the number of places, where sports can be practiced. Others say that the expected effect of that would be minimal, and other strategies should be implemented. Although we’re not sure if sport facilities would be used, and thus, lower the effect of this strategy, I believe that the final impact of sport on obesity, and global healthcare would be far greater than any other measure. On the one hand, it is not because you increase the number of sport facilities that you automatically improve the health system. This is because most people are not motivated to go to the gym because they are already tired at the end of the day, and prefer to watch a movie. In addition, there are already plenty of sport centres and the number of people with obesity is still increasing. For instance, in the USA, people prefer to take medications in order to lose weight rather than going to the gym. In my opinion, this is not the solution because those medications are far more expensive than just doing exercise and it will not be cost-effective. On the other hand, sport activities are the best way to lose weight and reduce the burden of obesity worldwide. That is to say that only a small amount of time doing sport is effective to diminish cardiovascular disease due to weight reduction and blood pressure lowering. For example, the latest guidelines in cardiology recommend running three times a week to improve our cardiovascular system. Even though we don’t know the real impact of increasing the number of sport facilities, I believe that it will have a huge role on the grounds that it will affect a larger population. In conclusion, despite although having more places to practice sport is not a guarantee to improve our healthcare system, I believe this is the greatest way to have the largest impact on it