Some people think news has no connection to people's lives, so it is a waste of time to read the news in newspapers and watch television news programs. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

There is a widely held perception that following news is unnecessary because it doesn't apply to our lives. This paper mostly disagrees with this reasoning, arguing that news is central to understanding current trends and finding life opportunities. To begin with, the idea of newspapers and TVs being unimportant to people's lives may be justified because such content is usually created with specific audiences in mind; for instance, sporting channels often target sport lovers. However, these spaces are crucial for learning about general happenings in society, and these have credence to individual lives. The onset of the COVID-19 pandemic exemplifies this well since devastations in other places served as an eye-opener for other nations to adequately prepare for the public health crisis. For this reason, the advantages of being a media follower outweigh the disadvantages. Moreover, news helps individuals identify or find opportunities in life - as it is used as a space for advertising, education, and connection. Whether its organisations trying to grow their brands or recent graduates seeking employment, the media space can help due to its ability to immediately reach far places and people. In addition, the potency of news has been further enhanced by the advent of the internet - making it even more relevant to people's lives that are increasingly becoming virtual. As a result, it seems fair to disagree with the dismisal of newspapers and television programs. In conclusion, I understand the reasons for thinking that news has no connection to human life. However, a balanced argument is required because some programs are useful to humans finding opportunities and getting information on contemporary trends in the world.