In many countries, students take a year gap after finishing school and work or travel during this period. Should students take a gap year before attending universities? What are the advantages and disadvantages of it?

It can be observed that students in worldwide nations take a year gap after their high school graduation and searching for working oppurtunities like internships or touring around the world during this one- year period. From my perspective, the advantages outweigh the disadvantages. To begin with, taking a gap year do have drawbacks. For example, if students choose to have a gap year, they will also graduate a year later than the students who get in to universities straight away after graduation, which means they may lost some valuable chances of job applications because they are not likely to predict, even have no idea about what situation they have to face in the future employment environment, perhaps students from this year will receive a considerable job offer but schoolers finishing school next year will not have this kind of luck. Despite the downsides, there are more positive sides when students take a year gap before they become the freshmen of the universities. Take my cousin as an example, he is a business major students who studies in the United States and he actually made a combination of studying first- year courses beforehand and travel the world, which makes him less pressure when becoming a university member because he already learned the basic content of his major in his freshman year. Also, a world tour is not only for fun and relaxation during the gap year, but also a priceless experience of expanding horizons. In addition, having an internship in this period is also a foundation for future career, because having this kind of experience in the company will have higher possibilities to become an official staff in the place where students have internship. In conclusion, take a year gap after finishing high school is a valuable time for students to improve their personal skills in different ways and the outcomes will be beneficial for their future path, but the premise is to be prepared to face the instability of the working environment.