Some people believe that consumerism is positive due to its impact on economic growth. While others think it is negative because it brings environmental and social issues. Discuss both sides and give your opinion.

In recent years, the debate on consumerism has strongly increased. Some argue that it has a positive effect on economy; however, others believe that it is the cause of environmental and societal problems. In this essay, I will discuss both sides of the perspective and explain my stand. On one hand, consumerism brings a positive effect on economy. For example, it helps create a lot of job opportunities. People who have just graduated from university can have numerous opportunities as intern positions to try. On the other hand, it also brings significant environmental and social issues. For instance, the waste of plastic products has become a major problem these days. Due to the amount of tourists, there are a lot of shops that choose to use one-time containers; they believe that it is way easier for both the shops and the customers. But it actually brings huge and negative effects to the environment, and also is not helpful for a sustainable future. In conclusion, in my opinion, I believe that the disadvantage outweighs the advantage. Because the bad impact it accompanies is under people's thought, and it also can not be reuseable.