The crime rate nowadays is decreasing compared to the past due to advanced technology which can prevent and solve crime. Do you agree or disagree?

These days, some people think that technology plays a pivotal role in reducing crime rates, which were higher in the past. I completely disagree with this notion, since offenders have adopted new technology, including artificial intelligence and the internet, to commit crimes. Firstly, Artificial Intelligence is increasingly exploited by fraudsters to create synthetic identities and deepfakes. This enables the creation of realistic images, audio and video content, which can pose serious dangers to individuals and society. To illustrate, in 2024, several individuals were tricked into transferring large sums of money to fraudsters' accounts after receiving phone calls that sounded exactly like their relatives who requested urgent financial help. This demonstrates how AI-based crime can cause serious emotional and financial damage. Secondly, cyberattacks have become a major problem worldwide. Criminals exploit the internet to breach computer systems, networks, and digital devices for financial gain and personal data, and business or political information. Malware, phishing, and unauthorised access are employed by criminals; which pose significant threats to authorities, businesses, and people. For example, in 2021, the Colonial Pipeline was shut down in the United States by the DarkSide group, which supplies more than 45% of fuel to the US East Coast. As a result, the widespread fuel shortage, economic losses and public inconvenience forced the government to declare an emergency to combat the issue. Therefore, this shows that technology does not necessarily reduce crime rates. To conclude, I believe that tech-savvy criminals conduct illicit activities using sophisticated technologies, including Artificial Intelligence and networks, to commit crimes. It poses a serious threat not only to governments but also to individuals.