Most countries aim to improve their standard of living through economic development, but many important social values can be lost as a result. Do the advantages of economic development outweigh the disadvantages?

Some countries in the world are rapidly developing economically. This may result in the loss of social values esteemed by citizens. The advantages of developing the economy outweigh the disadvantages. It creates more jobs and better health care facilities. The problem is that corrupt individuals might take advantage of this. There are more benefits to building the country's economy. One of them is that, during the process, more people may get employed. This means that most struggling families and individuals may improve their living conditions. When building schools, the government may give contracts to locals. In Zimbabwe, organisations employ locals when doing projects. This is a way of giving back to the community and improving other people's standard of living. To add on, when a country is improving its living standards, healthcare facilities become a priority since citizens need to be healthy so as to work. In Australia, for example, in Liverpool town, the hospital was extended recently, and a number of departments such as the antenatal clinic were built. This was all part of economic development. Improving the economic situation comes with several disadvantages, such as corruption. In some countries, ministers and counsellors may use funds from the government for their own individual benefits. We have seen in the news that in some countries those in power have been taken to court because of misusing funds meant for developing certain places. However, this problem can be dealt with. The government, may introduce strict laws and punishment for anyone who is corrupt. For instance, a few years ago, the Zambian president introduced stiff laws against corruption, ever since then, the country has developed significantly. Thus, the advantages of developing economies outweigh the disadvantages. In conclusion, economic development comes with more benefits as compared to problems. Individuals may get employed, and hospitals can be built, leading to better health. During the process, some people may get corrupt; however, the law can take its course.