Is a vegetarian diet the best eating style? Agree or disagree. Write an argumentative essay

In the modern world, there are many different eating options due to modern food production and distribution systems. One way of eating which has risen in popularity over the last 50 years is vegetarianism. Many people choose not to eat meat for various reasons to improve their life or the planet. This essay will argue the main advantages of a vegetarian diet in terms of environmental protection and health.    One benefit of not eating meat products is environmental protection. This is because meat production causes significant environmental destruction. For example, according to Cortlew (2021), cattle farming creates widespread deforestation. As a result, many important animal and plant species are lost, and levels of CO2 increase, which affects climate change. In addition to deforestation, farming also causes resource waste and pollution. This is because it takes a significant amount of water and soil to farm animals compared to vegetables. Farmers also need to use many chemicals to increase grass production, which pollutes the water and soil. Another advantage of having a meat -free diet is health benefits. This is because vegetarians tend to eat a wider variety of foods that are high in vitamins and minerals. Consequently, their bodies are stronger and have more protection against illnesses (Sutton 2020). Furthermore, being a vegetarian can improve mental health. This is because their choice to not eat meat protects animals from being abused or killed. For example, many animal farming practices are harmful or stressful to animals. Consequently, a vegetarian can feel happy about what they eat and avoid guilt or mental stress over animal suffering.    In conclusion, a vegetarian eating style not only benefits the environment, but also physical and mental health. Therefore, more education around vegetarian nutrition needs to be supplied in supermarkets, and restaurants need to create more exciting meat -free dishes to encourage more people to choose vegetarianism.