Some believe that younger family members should be legally responsible for supporting older family members when they become physically, mentally and financially unable to look after themselves. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

There is ongoing debate over whether adult children are obligated to be accountable for providing senior family members who are under economical, cognitive and physical strain. While I acknowledge that younger generations' duty to care for parents is crucial, I do not believe that, considering it as a legal obligation should be mandatory. Moreover, such responsibility should be shared between families and the state. On the one hand, from an ethical standpoint, caring to ageing population, when they are unable to support themselves financially and medically is their filial responsibility. Because, parents dedicate their resources, including time and money throughout their entire life. For instance, most part of parents spend many years assisting with homework, life skills and covering their healthcare and general costs. So, showing respect for the sacrifices they made is a way of repaying their efforts. In this sense, intergenerational support is both morally and socially beneficial. However, enforcing it by law may cause significant problems. Because, not all children are in working-age and able to offer assistance, particularly, if they face challenges that related to income or unemployment. This may place considerable pressure on them. Moreover, the government ought to create social safety net, which controls over pension and caring systems for older generation. In this case, it strengthens bonds in families and declines caregiver burden. Since, public welfare systems can provide professional healthcare and social services for elderly people. In conclusion, while it is morally and financially important for children to be duty-bound to care for aging parents, making it legal obligation is not fair for everyone. Therefore, a balanced approach is preferable rather than a strict legal requirement.