Some people believe that governments should spend more money on public transport rather than building new roads. Do you agree or disagree?

Although some people think that countries should expend a lot of money on public transport instead of having new roads, I disagree with that. To begin with, every country should focus on the fabrication of new streets. In other words, governments have to use large areas which not useful anymore and convert them into streets, roads, or even a bridge. As a result, this led to less traffic and arrival at the destination on time. In addition, as the population numbers increase over time, in the future, people will suffer from the heavy traffic. Another point to consider, spending a high amount of money on public transport, such as trains, taxis, and buses, plays an essential role in society. Many people don't have enough money to have a vehicle, and others don't know how to drive, so it's better for the governments to spend a lot of money on public transport to provide support. In conclusion, although it's essential to expend more money on public transport to help people, it's more significant to build new roads to avoid congestion on the streets.