Some scientists believe that in the future computers will be more intelligent than human beings. While some see this as a positive development others worry about the negative consequences. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Nowadays, the advent of artificial intelligence has sparked debate among experts that in the coming years, the cutting-edge technology will transcend human ability in various fields of work. This essay will discuss both the advantages and drawbacks of these issues. To begin with, technological advancement in the field of artificial intelligence has been increasing rapidly in the last 5 years, especially due to the innovations conducted by well-known companies such as Nvidia, Broadcom, and OpenAI. This phenomenon leads to automatization, which means that traditional jobs are being replaced by machines and computers, considered much more accurate and faster and less costly, hence will save the company’s resources and enhance efficiency. For example, the use of robots in Amazon replacing thousands of workers is able to reduce packaging costs in 2024 by approximately 25%. Besides, the utilisation of Microsoft Copilot and Chat GPT is able to provide various information and data for the presentation, thus job vacancy for a secretary is at risk. However, optimalisation in computer intelligence has an adverse effect, especially job losses due to automation, because their duties are already taken by machines and robots, and eventually increases the rate of unemployment. Besides, the rapid growth in artificial intelligence contributes to low labour demand in the job market. According to a survey conducted by The Jakarta Post in 2025, the jobless rate for data analysts bachelor’s degree has increased by 17% compared to the previous year. In conclusion, even though the advent of artificial intelligence causes the increase rate of unemployment and the decline in labour demand, it improves enterprises’ efficiency and leads to a faster business process.