In many countries, people spend longer hours at work. Why does this happen? What problems can this cause?

These days, it is often argued that employees are spending an extended time at work rather than scheduled working hours. This is due to the fact of over-reliance on technology and failure to set well-defined time limit boundaries. This trend can cause significant problems in achieving overall work-life balance and deteriorating the mental health. To begin with, spending long hours at work is largely due to the fact that work limit boundaries are not defined properly between staff and employers. This means that certain employers expect their employees to stay online or work after hours in order to maintain smooth operations. Additionally, having access to the internet has made it more convenient for employers to contact their staff in case of emergency situations. Therefore, without setting a proper boundary between a work life and a personal life, it is impossible to achieve a work-life balance, and, for this reason many individuals work overtime even after their shift hours. For instance, a recent report revealed that an average of 38% of employees keep switching jobs because they are unable to handle their overtime pressure, which is resulting in health issues. Spending long hours causes numerous personal and health problems. Firstly, work-life balance is impacted. I mean that they do not have enough time to spend effectively with their families or engage in activities that interests them, which affects their personal relationships. Secondly, an increase in work pressure and additional responsibilities weakens their mental health. Working for a long time without much relaxation causes problems such as anxiety and depression. For example, an investigation revealed that conditions such as chronic stress and depression are the most common problems of today's society, especially among the working adults. In conclusion, employees are working long hours in many countries, and this is mainly because they failed to define time limit between their work and personal lives in order to achieve work-life balance. Such a culture will impact individuals singnificanlty in maintaining their personal relationships and mental well-being.