The news about violent crimes may frighten people or, on the contrary, encourage them to commit a crime. Therefore, some believe that these types of news should not be reported in newspapers or on TV. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

The rate at which crimes have been reported in the news has escalated in recent times. Some argue that reporting of this information on crime may insight fear in the citizens or motivate more criminals to commit crime, whereas others are of the opinion that this type of news should be swept under the rug. I am of the opinion that crimes should be reported in the news, and I will discuss concisely in this essay. Progressively, it is imperative to alert the public to the dangers that may be lurking in the corners. However, this might spike fear and terror in the minds of the people, but it provides a sense of awareness in society so that every citizen can do well to protect themselves or take safety precautions where needed. As an illustration, in a case where some violent criminals break out from their cells, it would do society good if they were informed on the news about these fleeing assailants, so that they can be aware and protect themselves by staying indoors or even reporting these criminals if they happen to spot them in their hiding places. Furthermore, the report on crimes serves as a warning label to unsuspecting criminals who may want to venture into such acts of violence. More so, due to the media coverage and awareness generated from the news, the situation would attract more publicity, and if need be, depending on the severity of the crime, can lead to an alliance with a neighbouring country to aid in tackling the situation properly by either assisting with more firearms or foot soldiers. For example, A developing country may be faced with highly armed terrorists, but with proper publicity, they can get attention from a developed country to help handle their problems. Hence, this can greatly reduce the crime Use synonyms atrocitybreachcasecorruptionevilfelonyinfractionlawlessnessmisconductmisdeed It is important to use synonyms in your writing, as you will lose marks if you repeat words from the question and use the same words in your essay over and over. If you do that, it will show the examiner that you have a limited vocabulary and you want to do the opposite for a high band score. rate in society. In conclusion, the reports about violent crimes may have their drawbacks, but they provide more advantages to the safety of the people in the community than not informing its citizens.