Some people think that studying history is a waste of time while others think that it is essential to learn. Discuss both sides and give your opinion.

In this modern era, there is an ongoing debate over whether studying history is non-fruitful and a waste of time, while others argue it as an essential component in study curriculum. In the following paragraphs, I will explore both of these opinions, and I personally side with the latter view. On the one hand, in this competitive society, children often compete to achieve high scores to enter universities, particularly in biological, medical, mathematical, or financial fields. Thereby, they are more prone to focus on their desired subjects. For example, if a student aspires to become a doctor often study hard to achieve desired score in science subject. Undoubtedly, from their perspective, spending more time on non-related subjects to medicine may be a waste of their precious time. On the other hand, learning history would provide numerous merits. Firstly, history as a subject, helps to learn from the past mistakes that our ancestors had done. Additionally, its a good opportunity to explore knowledge regarding the traditional technology, which have hidden from the modern eyes. For instance, in Sri Lanka, there were plethora of kings who had done a great service and sacrifices to protect the country from enemies. In addition, Sri Lankan history mentions that, king Ravana's time has had a vehicle that can travel through air. Hence, studying history is a gateway to appreciate our ancestors skills and also examine what strategies they jad used to fight against enemies. In conclusion, although some believes history as a subject is worthless, I strongly opine that is a necessity to empower with ancient time's information. To face the unprecedential circumstances in future, knowledge gained from historical mistakes would never be in vain.