Some people think that zoos are cruel and have no place in the modern world. Others feel that zoos still serve a useful purpose. Discuss both sides and give your own opinion.

In recent times, there has been an argument on zoos in the modern world. Some people believe that zoos are vile and should be abolished, whereas others still opine that they have a purpose. I am in support of the latter. However, in this essay, I will discuss both views. On the one hand, it is imperative to note the negative effects the zoo has on these creatures. Conversely, animals in the zoo are kept in a confined space; for example, a cheetah, which is part of the wild cat family, needs a large area for proper exercise, but it can be seen to be enclosed in a tight corner in the zoo for amusement. More so, these animals are solely dependent on humans for survival, in the sense that humans get to feed them every day, and without humans, they can not survive on their own in the wild because these animals, especially the canivores, have no hunting experience, Hence, they may become a target to other predators. On the other hand, the zoo can serve an educational purpose for children. Research studies conducted on children concluded that kids learn more about different animals by going on an expedition to the zoo. Additionally, they get to identify different species of animals, and in some cases, they would like to own some domestic animals such as dogs, or cats as house pets. Furthermore, the zoo protects the animals that are on the brink of extinction. As an illustration, the Blue Mackaws, a rare species of parrots, have been saved from extinction due to the conservation of these birds in the zoo. In the absence of these measures taken by zookeepers, so many other animals would not exist in this modern time. Progressively, the zoo provides employment opportunities for citizens in the community as they get hired to cater to the needs of these animals. To conclude, the zoo may have its drawbacks, but i am of the opinion that the zoo does more good to the safety of these animals and maintains a balanced ecosystem between humans and animals.