In many cities crime is increasing. Why do you think this is happening? what can government do to help reduce crime levels? Give reasons for your answer and include relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

These days, crime rates are significantly increasing in many urban areas. This is mainly due to the fact of poverty and joblessness. This problem can be resolved by providing unemployment benefits and vocational education to find employment opportunities. This essay will discuss the reasons and effective measures to significantly reduce the crime levels. To begin with, unemployment rate is spiking in cities because of urban sprawl, causing poverty among the public. Due to excessive competition, people are unable to obtain job prospects in cities, which is resulting in joblessness. As a result, they are unable to manage their expenses for accommodation, food and basic needs for survival. Therefore, they are motivated to engage in criminal activities, such as theft and burglary, as a source of making money. For instance, in India, an average of 20% of criminal cases reported are minor crimes, such as robbery and theft, because of lack of jobs and in order to satisfy their basic needs, such as food and clothes. There are couple of effective solutions to tackle this issue. Firstly, governments could provide unemployment benefits to residents, which would be beneficial to manage their daily expenses for survival. By doing this, minor crimes will be reduced in urban areas. Secondly, free training and employment opportunities could be provided to civilians. For example, in China, the government is providing free educational courses for people to find work. Furthermore, they are providing vocational training to prisoners to prevent them from re-offending, when they are released. By this measure, they can find suitable jobs without getting involved in activities against law. In conclusion, critics argue that crime rates are increased in many city centres. This is due to urbanisation that people are jobless and facing poverty, which influences them to involve in such activities against law. Therefore, policymakers can provide benefits for those who do not have jobs. Additionally, providing free education and vocational trainings will also reduce the levels of crime.