Some high school students work part-time in addition to going to school. What are the advantages and disadvantages of high school students having part-time jobs? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge and experience.

The financial freedom of working to earn your own money as a youngster, is a necessity in modern times. However, there may be a few drawbacks to this ideology that may detter the student's potential academically. I will discuss on these views in this essay. On the one hand, it is important to understand the urgency of financial literacy at a young age. High- school students who work part-time in addition to school activities get to develop a sense of financial independence which is paramount for the growing mind. With this achievement, they can get to handle their daily needs themselves without asking for a hand-out from their guardians. Furthermore, this exposes them to become very calculative about spending, they tend to spend wisely on the things they really need and not what they want. For example, a teenager would rather utilize their salary on getting more clothes than spending them on party tickets and other frivalous distractions. On the other hand, these part-time jobs can have a negative impact on these youngsters academically. It may be very challenging to live a double life, as they may struggle to balance their work life with their education. For instance, they become distracted in classes because they are exhausted from work, they may skip classes as well to meet up with their job schedules, and in extreme cases due to an inconsistent attendance to school, they may fail the class. Progressively, some of these teenagers begin to prioritize their jobs over learning which may have a more terrifying outcome because they would lose sight of the value of education completely. In essence, i recommend a balance between school and work. To conclude, working part-time as a student has it's benefits as well as it's drawbacks. Moreover, to properly balance a work -life with school, one should first understand that both of them are as important as the other so they must try to create equillibrium between the two.