In many societies, there is a growing emphasis on sustainable living and reducing environmental impact. What are the challenges of adopting a sustainable lifestyle? What practical actions can individuals take to contribute to sustainability?

In recent years, sustainable living is required to reduce detrimental effects to our environment due to globalisation and a rapid economic growth. This essay will discuss the challenges for sustainable living and the viable solution to mitigate the impact of this issue. To begin with, the challenges to adopt a sustainable lifestyle stemming from consumerism around the world, which contributed to the most popular waste, namely plastic. These substances are cannot be decay or break down by natural process for hundreds of years because its nature as non-degradable compounds. Furthermore, the utilization of vehicles using fossil fuels produce greenhouse gas emissions into the atmosphere, and leads to the acceleration of global warming. Besides, the deteriorating of air quality caused by pollution has led to many illnesses, primarily cancer, asthma, and respiratory system. For example, in Jakarta, one of the most polluted cities in the world, the air pollution has contributed to the increase of temperature by 0.5 °C in the last ten years. To address this problem this problem, the government has a crucial role to encourage people to use recycle products. For instance, in many department stores, they provide paper bag which is considered environmentally-friendly to reduce the plastic usage. In addition, educating societies to use public transportations and subsidising electric cars is beneficial to reduce the greenhouse gas emission, hence decelerating the global warming. For example, the government of China has built modern railway system and subsidised the electric vehicles since at the beginning of 2000, and this policy is able to reduce air pollution by approximately 5%. In conclusion, a sustainable lifestyle required both the government roles and societies awareness to use environmentally-friendly products. By taking this actions, I believe that Earth will be a better place for human to live on.