“Nowadays many businesses use advertising to promote their products. In order to increase sales, businesses often emphasise that their products are new in some way. Why is this? Do you think it is a positive or negative development?”

It is often argued that many businesses, currently, use advertising as a medium for them to inform their products to their market audience, particularly to highlight regarding its novelty. This essay will discuss the cause and the benefit of this phenomenon. Undoubtedly, one of the key reason for this is to raise awareness of the customer. Raising their awareness will stimulate their curiosity about the product that has been advertised or promoted by the company. Therefore, it will make the customers pay an attention and what is the new things about the products. Conversely, if the company prefer not to profess a novelty in their product, it will make the company or the product forgettable and will not gain any customers ' awareness. Mitsubishi, for example, one of their car campaign claimed that their new 7-seat car has a new radio feature that have already installed with the newest bluetooth version. To some extent, this car campaign successfully raised people's awareness about this 7-seat car name and made a significant impact of sale although it is only because of the bluetooth advertisement. Furthemore, this phenomenon can be attributed as a positive development. This will create engagements with their audiences, thus, the engagements will ignite the company to retain and maintain a good relationship with the customer. Moreover, if they can keep up maintaining the relationship it will make them have a lot of loyal customer. For instance, Toshiba in Japan always maintain their customers through giving them a privilege to try a new features of their products. Therefore, it makes them feel as a special customers of Toshiba. In conclusion, though businesses often highlight their products are new in some way to have the attention of their customers, it is still a positive development for both of the company and customers.