Some children spend hours every day on their smartphones. Why is this case? Do you think is a positive or negative develompent?

Nowadays, kids are using their mobile phones constantly. In this essay, I will discuss the causes behind this trend, and I will argue why this trend is negative. On the one hand, there are multiple reasons why children are obsessing over their phones. One major reason is entertainment; there are various apps that entertain children, such as games, YouTube and TikTok. Secondly is communication; many of the young generation use programmes to communicate and socialise with their friends in school, for example, Snapchat and Instagram. Thirdly is addiction; many children are obsessed with different influencers and YouTubers and watch them on a daily basis. On the other hand, I firmly believe that this trend is negative and can harm preteens and teens in many ways because it can worsen their health, for instance, their mental health; overconsuming apps may lead to anxiety, depression and lower the individuals' self-esteem; which sometimes may result in cyberbullying. Also, it can cause physical issues such as obesity, eye problems, and messing up their sleeping schedule. In addition to that, the constant watch of the phone screen may lead children to be less creative and unique and decline their attention span and focus, hence failing subjects at school, gaining poor grades and being unaware about their future career and what to become. To conclude, although phones are crucial for children to learn from and learn technology, the excessive use of them can cause the children to have serious issues which may harm them and result in worse outcomes.