Some people think that the best way to reduce spent in travelling to work is to replace parks and gardens close to the city centre with apartment buildings for commuters, but others disagree.Discuss both views and give your own opinion .

Nowadays, some people believe that gardens and green areas in the downtown areas of crowded cities should be replaced. This is to give more space for workers and reduce the spent of travel. This essay will argue that while replacing parks would be seen as a good idea, it is actually the wrong thing to do and my opinion is that I do not support it. It will examine some examples and arguments why I am completely against this belief and why we should think differently. While an important number of people might think that replacing these important spaces with an exceptional conception, because it could bring new job opportunities, not only for the people who need the space to live, but also to the new investment fund that can bring capital into the business. This is not the whole picture. There are other key points to paint out. For example, in Hong Kong, open areas were replaced in some central places, and as a result, there is a lack of clean air, a fall in outdoor activities and a decline in some development indicators. This traditional facing problem brings new issues to think about. Furthermore, there are other cities that have managed the complication from another perspective. Instead of removing open and green spaces, which are vital for the city and their inhabitants, they made a different public policy. For instance, in Amsterdam exists a policy which promotes remote work of big companies, and has an excellent public transport network; thus, workplace travelling is getting less expensive than it was in the past. This wise interpretation fixed the question. To conclude, cities should have a different approach to this kind of dilemma. While replacing and building might sound like a good interpretation, it is only convenient on the surface. Public policy makers should expand their ideas and think out of the box in order to get a better understanding of the trouble as a whole.