Should protecting environment be the government's responsibility rather than individuals?

Some people believe that protecting the environment should be primarily the government ’s responsibility rather than individuals. I fully agree with this. On the one hand, the government has huge resources and power that can regulate the environment. In addition to this, the government has leadership and authority to make laws such as limiting plastic products and also promoting renewable energy. The government has huge financial resources to invest in projects such as reforestation and forcing people to use clean public transportation. Moreover, the government can influence people through education and taxation. They can offer tax reductions for eco-friendly businesses and also reward households that contribute to the recycling process. On the other hand, individuals should also help to protect the environment, such as using public transport rather than private cars and using renewable energy like solar panels or rainwater. The government cannot achieve its goals if society does not follow it. In conclusion, although everybody should be responsible for protecting the environment, the government has a huge role, responsibility, and power to regulate laws that help reduce harm and protect the environment.