The increasing demand for oil and gas has made it necessary to find these energy sources in remote locations. Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

Globally, there's a need for oil and gas because they are used as energy sources in many countries. It is therefore necessary to mine for them. The benefits of doing this outweigh the drawbacks. Some of the advantages are that they lead to the creation of employment and wealth. First and foremost, mining for oil and gas creates employment for citizens, especially those living locally. Certain studies reveal that companies prefer employing locals because of the favours they may get in return. For instance, accommodation and food can be easily accessed if they have good relations with the locals. Another advantage is that when sold, the two energy sources may improve the country's economy, thereby leading to wealth. Countries such as South Arabia have a stable economy because of the availability of gas. Mining for fuel has some disadvantages. One of them is that, it leads to land degradation. It is noted that in some areas where they dig for sources of energy, some companies leave unburied deep pits. This is dangerous to people and animals living nearby. In the worst situations, there have been records of wildlife and people dying from falling into the pits. Another problem is that, digging brings out dust, which may lead to certain respiratory diseases such as TB and lung infections. Some studies show that most miners suffer from respiratory complications. In conclusion, the high demand for oil and gas is the reason why companies look for it in remote areas. I think this has more advantages than disadvantages. First, it creates employment, and second, it improves the country's economy.