Most scientific and inventions and discoveries are worthless and only waste time and money resources. To what extend do you agree or disagree?give your own opinion

Most scientific inventions and discoveries are worthless and only waste time and money resources. And my opinion about this topic is complicated, that’s why. First of all, I want to say that lots of scientific discoveries were made randomly, so they cannot be part of this topic. Because no one sponsored these discoveries. That is, They did not spend money and waste time. However, we talk about things which have been planned. So personally, this question is really complicated. It’s hard to give easy answers like i agree or disagree. The answer depends on what it is and discovery is useful. But still, I'm of the opinion that if it was planned and in conclusion successful, why should it be a waste of money and time? Like for example, is it a huge innovation like the internet. Which people use every day? Or is it just a something not valuable. It doesn’t matter because it finds actual application In conclusion, my answer to this question is more no than yes. It is a hard topic to answer because it has many nuances.