People in many countries do not wear their traditional costume. Some argue that they would forget their history and tradition. Do you agree or disagree?

It has been argued that many citizens in different parts of the world are not wearing traditional attire as it might lead to people forgetting their past history. This essay agrees with the narrative because clothes act as a reminder to illustrate evolution and they are also affordable. The primary reason why different people especially the elderly are still wearing the garments which they used to wear in their early years is because they give them sense of belonging. Something that is worn or that can be physically touched can remind of what happened in the past. Also, some were made by the use of animals' skin that gave them unique touch and a sense of belonging. For example, the Agikuyu community in Kenya had a rule that every first Saturday of every month, all age grouos wore otfit made up of either sheep or a cow to celebrate their traditions. Thus, this acted as a way of reminding them where they came from. The second reason is because the clothes are affordable compared to the designer wear sold in the market nowadays. The lowest cost of one outfit is 2 pounds whereas a traditional attire can be made using available resources and given free or used for barter trade to different communities. For this reason, it is easy getting the cloths to everyone in the family. For instance, the Mbeere people in Uganda makes traditional textiles which are exchanged by perishable goods such as tomatoes to Kenyans. This enhances affordability of the cloths. In conclusion, the more people wear traditional attrires, the more they become cheerful as they are able to embrace their culture and heritage.