Access to clean water is a basic human right. Therefore, every home should have a water supply that is provided free of charge. Do you agree or disagree? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

There is an argument regarding whether clean water should be free of charge to everybody. Personally, I disagree with this statement because this is impractical and it might lead to a risk of water waste. There is no doubt that water should be accessible to everyone. This is because it is a basic resource for people's survival. In addition, the prevalence of drinkable water is uneven globally. So, it should be shared with others because if it is not shared, conflicts or even a war could be a consequence. For example, residents of certain draughty areas have difficulty accessing clean water, and it is always a threat to their quality of life. This may cause many social issues. Therefore, water should be provided to all citizens in the community. However, on the other side, it is costly and complex construction project to establish a water delivery network. It requires a huge amount of funding to build and maintain the system. Furthermore, free water might encourage some people to waste their water when they do not need. For instance, citizens of Quebec prefer to keep their automatic tap open 24 hours for watering their lawn, even in a rainy day. This is totally a waste of the public water supply. In conclusion, water is a unique and limited natural resource, and it should be shared by all people. However, considering the cost of the public supply system, I support a charging system according to the volume used. It would be a reasonable solution for the sustainable maintenance of supplying clean water.