Some experts believe that it is better for children to begin learning a foreign language at primary school rather than secondary school. Do the advantages of this outweigh the drawbacks

Globalization has presented us with the number of challenges and decisions. None of which is too rudimentary to ignore. So, there is a relationship betweenwidening their horizon toward wide-ranging subjects and strengthening their knowledge in international languages. In this case, some authorities highlight the superiority of linguistic development at early stages of education, while considering its dire sequences play a crucial role in selecting the best curriculum.In my opinion, pupils must be allowed to opt for their interest fields regardless of its merits. On the one hand, early exposure to new languages can provide better academic and job opportunities in the future. Their keen mind is ready to understand and discover new languages as a native, fostering cognitive function, critical skills,mental power, and, more importantly, their self-confidence. This is not only because they are so enthusiastic about information, but also because of their openness to sounds and structures, causing natural fluency, mimicking native pronunciation, and internalizing grammar. Let’s take Chinese students as an example, they have occupied 75% of primary school scholarships in the UK because of their acceptable IELTS band score, enabling them to adapt to the new world with better social interaction. On the other hand, it can pose a threat to children freedom and mental health. Indeed, defining the compulsory curriculum stops them from seeking for their talents, which is nothing but a waste of time and energy. Furthermore, playful thought educating a non-native language is in primary school through song, game and story, some serious problems may arise such as perfectionism. To clarify, they got used to learn anything fast without effort or taking systematic steps toachieve it, stifling creativity and learning. So, they are expected to learn more challenging lessons such as math and science as easily as English. Last but not least, this approach causes confusion and linguistic disarray. For example, being multilingual from early years lose its efficiency for my friend’s nephew, who was born in Italy. Thus, his parents had to travel to Iran to enhance his native tongue. In conclusion, although starting foreign language learning in primary schools can be a good approach in shaping the future of children, I firmly believe that its drawbacks rely on starting at inappropriate time can take its privileges.