With a growing world population one of the most pressing issues is that of feeding such a large number of people. Some people think that GM foods offer a viable solution to this problem. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In recent years, overpopulation has put an immense burden on food supplies, which is making it difficult for the government to provide food to every citizen. The majority of people think that genetically modified food represent a solution to this challenge. Although GM food helps to increase yields, I contend that it is detrimental to human health. On the one hand, one of main benefits of GMOs is that they enable farmers to harvest more crops per hectare. GM crops are enginnered to resist diseases and insects, which means they are less likely to suffer damage during the growing season. Consequently, farmers loss less crop, resulting in higher yields. For example, BT cotten is genetically modified to resist bollworms, which are a major pest. Famers who grow BT cotton experience less crop damage and are able to produce more. In this way, GM crops are constructive. On the other hand, I believe that GM crops are not beneficial to human body because it may trigger allergic reactions. Genes from one ogranism are sometimes inserted into another in which result new protins are created. These can be considered harmful for sensitive people. For example, If a gene from nuts is added to a soyabean, people with nut allergies may experience some adverse reactions. They ofen unaware about the new protins consequences and unintentionally consume them, increasing the risk of health problem. To conclude, even though GM crops are incresed yields as they are resist to pests and insects, which is the main benefit of this strategy, I contemplate that these crops can deteriorate to people's health, that is the one of the main drawbacks of this trend.