Many people nowadays spend a large of their free time using a smartphone. What do you think are the reasons for this? Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

Nowadays, the majority of people spend a considerable amount of thier free time on smartphones. There are many social and personal reasons as to why this happenes. In my opinion, while there are some negative impacts to this, most of it is a positive development. For starters, most people in their free time want something entertaining, and smartphones put that entertainment at their fingertips. Also, whether it be watching a movie or a video, scrolling through social media, or catching up with relatives and friends, people have easier access to that now more than ever. Moreover, as a socitey, we have become dependant on the services smartphones offer us, such as ordering foods and items, looking up information, and taking notes and pictures, all in a hand-held device. Admitedly, spending a large sum of free time using smartphones does have negative impacts. For example, shortening attention spans, losing track of time and other physical and mental issues. However, I believe that spending a lot of time on smartphones is a positive thing, because smartphones offer many services and luxeries that help with the quality of life, making things easier and more practical. For instance, paying the bills, sending email, taking calls, purchasing items, sending a text, browsing the internet, capturing a photo or a video are all accessable and easy to use in a smartphone. In conclusion, I think that using smartphones is a good way of spending ones free time.