Should governments make decisions about people's lifestyle , or should people make their own decisions?

In the modern era, it is often debated whether authorities should make decisions about residents' lifestyle or people should have the right to make their decisions. Although the government should restrict certain harmful activities, namely watching vulnerable and inappropriate content, I think that people should be free to make decisions according to their financial circumstances and personal aspirations. On the one hand, one of the main reasons why the government should make choices about people's lives is that some dangerous activities exist which place a significant burden on both the government and individuals. After watching them, they try to imitate it in real life, thereby putting their lives in danger. For example, In India, 9-years-old girl gave birth to a baby in 2026. After a police investigation, it is discovered that her 10-years-old boy was involved. He has been influenced by such content after watching them on the internet. In this sense, the government should restrict their lives. On the other hand, I believe that people should have the right to make their own decision about their lifestyles. Everyone has different levels of income and choices, so decisions about their future goals, travel plans, career, and education are made according to what they can afford. For example, people who live under the poverty line cannot afford to study at Oxford University; whereas it is an ideal place for wealthy people. If governments force elite families to enroll their children in a college which they do not wish to attend, they can violate personal freedom and exploit people's right to choose. To conclude, even though authorities should regulate people's activities that are harmful for the society, I contend that people should have the right to make choices according to their conditions, which give them a sense of purpose..