In many countries, people are celebrating traditional festivals and local events less than in the past. What are the reasons for this trend, and what solutions can be suggested?

In recent years there has been a growing decline in the observance of local celebrations. This trend has sparked controversy over how it could risk cultural disconnection as well as reduced social skills in society. This essay will explore the underlying causes of this phenomenon before proposing solutions. The first reason for this issue is rooted in the inevitable demands of modern life. Intensified schedules and preoccupied minds leave no time for individuals to adequately get prepared for festivities. For instance, preparation for a public occasion requires time for costumes, decorations and mental space afforded by unburdened minds. If people feel time -poor, they would rather dedicate their time to relaxation or work commitments. Another reason cited to explain this is digitalization. The digital world is unarguably of great appeal for people, however, their dependence on virtual interaction has fostered an environment in which in-person interaction is devalued. The constant need to be available at all times has led people to believe that online socialization would sufficiently alter physical presence. These two reasons visibly demonstrate people ’s passive interest in participating in public gatherings. Fortunately, this trend is reversible through proactive steps, one of which is maintaining a work-life balance. To make this happen, communities ought to simplify the process of preparation for citizens by facilitating the festivities and providing the required resources for them, such as voluntary support teams or ready-made decorations. Another highly effective solution would be implementing educational reforms in order to emphasize the significance of honoring our traditions and customs, ensuring that the next generation is equipped with adequate knowledge about their heritage. The expected outcome would be to create a deep sense of cultural identity for youngsters, thereby guaranteeing acknowledgement of festivities for decades to come. As outlined above, the diminishing interest of society in marking festivities arises mainly from digitalization and intensification of time. Thus, it remains imperative that policymakers address this critical situation by contributing to a balanced schedule for people and reforming the education system to raise awareness about the importance of cultural heritage and instill appreciation for traditions.