Some people believe that studying History is very important. Others say that it is irrelevant and has many limitations and should not be studied at all. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

In recent times, there have been a debate on the importance of studying certain subjects. Some individuals believe that learning History is paramount, whereas others think it holds no value and limits the mind. In this essay, i will discuss both views and give my opinion. On the one hand, history is a very interesting subject that enlightens us about our core values such as, our culture, our historical achievements and also our language at large. Hence, in absence of this subject beign studied in a school's curriculum, it deprives us of truly understanding our origin. As an illustration, students who are well grounded in their culture or historical background are more confident when addressing issues related to historical events. On the other hand, this subject can present itself with details that may seem to be controversial given different beliefs of certain people. For example, some cultural practices which are considered to be abominable in the modern world should not be discussed in schools. More so, some historical events may be interpreted differently from the way others believe it to be, thus, this encourages a false narrative on certain groups of people. For instance, dating back to the civil war in Nigeria, some tribes are of the narrative that the Igbo's ochestrated the coup, whereas they believe it was the Yoruba's. Hence, this fosters a generational fued between both tribes. In conclussion, it is of great importance for one to be educated about their history, therefore, I am of the opinion that we should study our history, but we should be critical with information that is not backed up with proper evidence.