You said: It is difficult for many people to create a balance between their professional and their personal life. What are the causes of this? What can be done to solve this problem?

In this day and age, more and more people are finding it hard to balance their professional an person life due to a plethora of reasons. On one hand, it is crucial to strive professionally in order to succeed in life. On the other hand, not focusing on personal life could lead to dire consequences. There are many reasons as to why individuals tend to struggle to maintain the perfect balance without sacrificing anything on either side. This essay aims to present those reasonings as well as provide a solution that could help alliviate this issue. One of the most pressing circumstance that leads to a lack of proper work- life balance is related to economics and personal finances. Looking at Hong Kong as an example, many people in the city prioritises their profession not necessarily out of interest or passion, or a need to grow professionally, but rather for survival. With the ever increasing cost of living, many are forced to put their work above everything else. It is not uncommon to hear about someone missing out on crucial moments such as their child's basketball match or the anniversary of their relationship just so they could work overtime or focus on a current project. In many cases, it is due to the fact that individual are heavily reliant on the current paycheck to survive. Missing even a few hours of work could be the thing that decides if they would have enough to cover their living costs this month. For this reason, many people are choosing to prioritise their profession over personal life as it is a means of survival. To combat this, the minimum wage should be increased to ensure everyone can survive. Culture, however, is equally at fault for this problem. Many culture value hardwork, sometimes to the point of sacrificing other things. In cities like Hong Kong, Tokyo, and Singapore, advancing in your career and putting it above all else is expected. From a young age, children are taught that in order to be successful, they must have a stable career. This mindset forces them to believe that profession in the most important thing in their lives. The culture they were brought up in places an emphasis on professional development. As a result, they are willing to go to any length to advance professionally, even at the expense of their personal lives. It is, unfortunately, not uncommon to hear about people struggling mentally due to this pressure. Yet, not much change is done and it is not expected to get much better as this mindset has been deeply ingrained into the minds of the people in these communities. As such, the culture that a person is living in contributes just as much to the lack of work- life balance. Raising awareness through campaigns can help with this. To conclude, work- life balance continues to be one of the most pressing issue of our time. From economics to culture, countless factors contribute to this growing problem. However, with the right intervention from the government and community, it can be solved.