In some countries, an increasing number of children are overweight or obese as a result of eating too much fast food. Banning fast food from school canteens is the best way to flight this problem. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

I agree with this statement to some extent. Banning fast food from school canteens can help fight this problem, but it cannot end it entirely. First, banning fast food from canteen can help reduce childhood obesity. Many children are exposed to fast food in their school lunches. By banning it, it reduces the chances of them being able to access fast food. This alone can already help lessen obesity. However, I still disagree with this statement to an extent as it can only go so far. Firstly, many students are fed fast food outside of school. Many are even fed fast food and ultra-processed food at home. Therefore, banning fast food in schools will not help these kind of students. Secondly, it is more important to raise their awareness. To kids, fast food is delicious and that is all they care about. They do not know the harm it does to the body. Taking it away from them will lead to frustrations. By raising awareness, they will understand and know to avoid fast food on their own. To conclude, banning fast food in school canteens is a good start, but it is only one of many things to be done to combat the problem. Therefore, it many not be the best way, though it is a way to lessen the issue to an extent.