Some people think that consumerism can boost the economy and create business and jobs. Others consider that society becomes a ‘throw-away society’ producing unnecessary waste. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Consumerism is promptly increasing in recent years and has become a debatable topic.Some people think that it helps economy to flourish and create oppourtunities for business and jobs whereas other conisder that society becomes a throw-away society. Although, both sides have merits,I believe it has more negative consequences than benefits. Supporters of consumerism state that economy boost when people buy more products.It creates an competative environment for companies to lauch novel products to keep people engage in purchasing new and advance things. To develop and lauch extensive array of products exisitng bussinesses hire employees which create a significant job opportunities. Similarly, new bussiness can also find a market place if people are actively buying things.In this way overall ecomony boost. However,critics argue that society has become a throw away society. This is because of the fact that people buy not only geniune products to use but also unneccsay items. This creates a competative market so companies use raw materials of low quality to lower its price. This results into products that are less durable and people discard it after few usages.It can be best illustrated by the fast fashion industry. Companies like Shein sells cheap and trendy clothes which attracts customers but after few usage they throw it as the clothes are of low quality. Another factor is the exploitation of resources which involve both raw materials and humans.Fast paced industry and consumerism has lead to a serious problem of misusing resources.To fulfuill the demand of consumers who prefer cheap items companies pay low to their wokers to make profit. Similarly they exploit natural resources which means there will be depletion of resources for future use. In conclusion,I would state that consumerism can help economy flourish but it has far more disadvantages.