Nowadays sport is becoming a big business with professional players earning high salary and more companies get involved in sports financially. Is this a positive or negative development?

Certain sports have become very popular worldwide. Several companies have seized the opportunity and make numerous business ventures into the field, and many sport celebrities are making salaries that are many times over what ordinary people make. Some people are concerned about this development, while others do not see this as an issue. This essay will discuss both views. There are several genuine concerns associated with the commercialisation of sports that people rightly raised. Firstly, some sport fans become obscessed with the teams and players that they support. This can sometimes result in unwise, excessive spending behaviour. It is not uncommon to see people buy a sport shirt of their favourite player at an inflated price, and add a premium if there is an autograph on the item. Secondly, to maintain public interests and to generate revenue, big companies regularly sponsor big sport events across the world. With large crowds gathering, inevitably there will be anti-social behaviours. This diverts valuable police resources from other areas during these events. Commercialisation of sports undoubtedly has its downsides. Nevertheless, celebrity players and sponsoring companies can bring a lot of advantages. The money invested by big companies can encourage more people to take up sports and adopt a more active lifestyle. In addition, celebrity players are often very mindful of the public image they present. They can serve as role models for young teenagers. Moreover, many popular sport stars use their fame to raise awareness about important topics such as climate change and inequality. Finally, people often rally behind their own country to support their national team during big international tournaments, this in turn promotes patriotism and social cohesion among the people. In many ways, sport stars and companies contribute positively to society. In summary, while the commercialisation of sports does have its downsides, without the celebrities and the investment provided by big companies, sports would not have the same reach as it currently does. Overall, the value they provide to society outweigh the disadvantages.