International tourism is now more common than ever before. Some feel that this is a positive trend, while others do not. What are your opinions on this? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

The past 50 years have seen a considerable increase in global tourism. Despite the undeniable economic prosperity it has brought to many host countries, I would argue that the overall impact of international holidaymaking has in fact been negative. Two of the primary drawbacks associated with this trend are as follows. First of all, global tourism tends to export many negative aspects of western culture. Since it is only the wealthy who can afford to travel abroad, developing countries like Thailand and Indonesia have become the playgrounds of tourists from more affluent ones. In many such nations, this influx of mainly western tourists has brought with it problems such as prostitution as well as alcoholism and drug abuse. Admittedly, international tourism does have the potential to foster greater understanding and tolerance between people of different cultures. However, this is unlikely to occur while it remains such a potent symbol of western cultural domination and moral decadence. Even more disturbing, though, is the environmental degradation that international tourism has caused in many parts of the world. One particularly salient example of this is the Great Barrier Reef in Australia—the countless boats, divers and snorkellers that have visited the reef over the past few decades have gradually destroyed vast sections of coral. Similarly, world renowned Kuta Beach in Bali has become heavily polluted in recent years. In order to be sustainable, greater regulation of global tourism is required. In conclusion, the challenges presented by the booming international tourist industry are numerous and complex. Although they are by no means insurmountable, it is highly unlikely that they will be resolved in the foreseeable future.