Many countries aim to improve their living standard by economic development, but some important social values are lost as a result. Do you think that advantages of economic development outweight the disadvantages ?

Generally, people believe when nations focus on economic growth primarily, a few social values get lost in the process. In my opinion, the merits of economic development certainly outweight the demerits. When a country focuses on its economic development, it can create more employment opportunities, resulting in a satisfied society. To contribute to this argument, if we look at developing nations like India - due to scarcity of employment opportunities, citizens are forced to involve in activities like robbery and theft. Additionally, money generated from this growth can help government to serve the people with opportunities like reduced tax, free education, and developed infrastructure. For instance, if we look at developed nations like Canada, the citizens have access to free education, good public transportation, and well built roads. These factors enhances the happiness index and can also help inculcate social values in people of the nation. Thus, I believe, the process from a developed to developing nation might cost the society, but if we look at the bigger picture, the advantages of economic growth would be much more.