Some consumers are increasingly choosing to buy goods that are produced in their local area, rather than imported goods. What are the reasons for this? Is this a positive or a negative trend?

Whether people prefer to buy local or imported products is a topic of considerable debate. I strongly believe that buying local goods is far more beneficial, as they can bring some long-term economic advantages. One major reason to purchase local goods is that increasing opportunity for jobs. This is a valid reason for people who work in the local industry. To be more specific, the number of job positions can grow as most products are manufactured locally, and more workers will be needed. For example, there are just a few countries able to develop the automobiles, such as Toyota from Japan, and Ford from America. The outstanding automotive industry not only provides people with more job positions, but also satisfies the basic demand for vehicles for the general public. Therefore, encouraging consumers to shop locally significantly helps enhance the local economy. An additional reason for my stance is that the chance for the nation to export products to other countries. International trading is important for national development, but it is based on the great ability of mass production. For instance, Toyota is an incredible enterprise, it not only sells the vehicles to crowd in Japan, but also exports various models oversea as it has sufficient production lines to handle the international orders. Accordingly, keeping local enterprises competitive is a key point to make people willing to buy local goods, which is a positive cycle of the local economy. In conclusion, these days, the number of people who tend to support local goods is going higher, this is a contemporary trend for many countries as it is beneficial for the national economy.